Print Topic - Archive

BTD Forums  /  Eat Right 4 Your Type  /  Gluten in Brewers Yeast
Posted by: aussielady582, Monday, January 14, 2013, 4:39am
I looked on back of pack of brewers yeast (BY) in my cupboard, and noticed it says contains gluten. In Dr D's book on cardio disease, it says BY good for O nonnies.  Maybe it is just cross contam of gluten.  Then I wondered if nutritional yeast also has gluten? Hope not. I was having a little for extra B vitamins and protein, probably don't need it much now, as I am doing better with my proteins and veg.
I recommend bone broths for O, esp hunters with inflamed intestines; very healing/soothing ; beef bones, oxtail bones, duck bones, chicken bones, fish bones - add veggies.
Posted by: Lola, Monday, January 14, 2013, 5:20am; Reply: 1
right ;)
Posted by: ruthiegirl, Monday, January 14, 2013, 3:28pm; Reply: 2
I think it depends on what the yeast is  grown on. Nutritional yeast is usually grown on molasses, while brewer's yeast may be grown on barley. I'd contact the company that makes the particular kind of yeast you have, and find out what the source of gluten is. If it's gluten from something you're OK eating (such as rye) then the product would be OK for you (assuming you don't have celiac disease or some other problem with gluten other than BTD.)

Other forms of yeast are definitely gluten-free.
Posted by: 815 (Guest), Monday, January 14, 2013, 6:04pm; Reply: 3
I buy Brewer's Yeast made by Lewis Labs. it's gluten free and Kosher  :)  It's in most grocery stores.
Posted by: aussielady582, Saturday, January 19, 2013, 12:30am; Reply: 4
Thankyou Lola, Ruthiegirl, and Mayflowers for your responses. I'll follow up with manufacturer of BY.  ps  am probably giving up all grains and pseudo grains (seeds that cook like grains) from now on.  will still have some nuts and perhaps some pumpkin seeds.  The soups/broths, proteins esp fish, veg and fats working well for now.
Posted by: Dianne, Saturday, January 19, 2013, 4:30am; Reply: 5
Many products that used to have gluten and/or corn in the past no longer contain them. If in doubt,  it is usually easy to research the product in question and find a list of ingredients. If it states that it does not contain it, then your good to go. I've been able to use vitamin C in the form of ascorbic acid again because it is corn free!   :)
Print page generated: Thursday, April 26, 2018, 5:35pm