Print Topic - Archive

BTD Forums  /  Cook Right 4 Your Type  /  Xanthan Gum - corn, dairy & gluten free source
Posted by: Dianne, Friday, January 13, 2012, 6:29pm
I found this while perusing the internet. Anyone ever used this product?

Xanthan Gum 8 oz Authentic Foods

http://www.glutenfree-supermarket.com/detail.aspx?ID=2


      Xanthan Gum (Free of Gluten, Corn, & Dairy) Come and get a new and improved Xanthan gum specially made for Authentic Foods. It is made of granules instead of powder. The easier-to- handle granules, mix well with liquids, resulting in better volume for your baked goods. And this new product will not affect the color of baked goods. Also, it can be used in salad dressings to emulsify the oil and vinegar. And more good news! It's available at the same price as the powdered xanthan gum

Posted by: ruthiegirl, Friday, January 13, 2012, 9:12pm; Reply: 1
I'd like to know what it's sourced from, if not corn. It could be something equally non-compliant, such as potato.

Even if it's from a compliant source, I don't know if the xanthan gum itself is problematic. Gums in general are hard on the GI tract.
Posted by: C_Sharp, Friday, January 13, 2012, 9:54pm; Reply: 2
Quoted Text
Authentic Foods xanthan gum is produced by a fermentation process using the bacterium Xanthomonas campestris.  This bacteria actually grows on plants found in the cabbage family where the gum was actually discovered.  Xanthan Gum is actually the cell wall surface of the bacteria that is separated by a complex enzymatic process.  During the fermentation process the bacteria is fed glucose syrup and minerals.  When completed, the mixture is pasteurized to kill the bacteria.  The gum is then separated by precipitating it using an alcohol substance.  The gum is then wash, dried, and milled to a fine powder.
Posted by: Possum, Friday, January 13, 2012, 10:03pm; Reply: 3
Thanks C_sharp - Much as I would like to be able to process things like xanthan gum - Cabbage & glucose syrup & alcohol are three things that don't sound good for my system ::)
Posted by: Dianne, Saturday, January 14, 2012, 12:17am; Reply: 4
I've e-mailed them to get more information. Like if the glucose comes from mangos, count me out! I would think the alcohol evaporates and I get it in the red wine. Here's hoping! ;D
Posted by: Dianne, Saturday, January 14, 2012, 6:50am; Reply: 5
I rec'd an Allergen and Food Safety Information Sheet and it is says  : "Plant source ingredient - RICE. It is quite a detailed sheet and I don't know if I can copy and paste it here. I'm definitely going to give it a try.
Posted by: Possum, Saturday, January 14, 2012, 7:03am; Reply: 6
Cheers!  ;)
Print page generated: Wednesday, December 17, 2014, 11:08pm