Print Topic - Archive

BTD Forums  /  Eat Right 4 Your Type  /  I'm pretty sure I know the answer, but...
Posted by: 1475 (Guest), Tuesday, January 9, 2007, 7:18pm
Is mock duck okay for me to eat?  I assume it is, but I didn't see it listed in the typebase.
I'm still trying to find my bearings and food land mines, sorry if the answer is obvious and i just don't see it!  ;)
Posted by: Don, Tuesday, January 9, 2007, 7:26pm; Reply: 1
I wouldn't eat it!

Mock duck, like seitan, is a gluten-based vegetarian food. It is generally made from wheat gluten and is thus high in protein. Its distinctive flavor and artificial "plucked duck" texture distinguish it from other forms of commercially available seitan. Mock duck can be found in most Oriental food stores.
Posted by: NewHampshireGirl, Tuesday, January 9, 2007, 7:26pm; Reply: 2
Wow!  I can't say I've heard of it.  Can you tell us more about it?
Posted by: 1475 (Guest), Tuesday, January 9, 2007, 7:46pm; Reply: 3
I had it yesterday from a local asian restaurant with some veggies and rice, and afterwards I felt really ill and got some stomach pains that I haven't had since before I began the BTD.  I thought the pains could have been from some of the other avoid foods I've eaten lately, but maybe it was the mock duck.
When I was chewing it I thought, "this doesn't taste right...maybe I'm not supposed to be eating this..." But I thought I was being obsessive and ate it anyway!
Posted by: KimonoKat, Tuesday, January 9, 2007, 7:59pm; Reply: 4
Before we order from a restaurant, we always ask for all the ingredients in a dish.  And, in asian restaurants, make sure to say

No cornstarch
No potatostarch
Posted by: Lola, Wednesday, January 10, 2007, 2:43am; Reply: 5
ouch!! I can feel your pain!
Posted by: the_accidental_chef (Guest), Wednesday, January 10, 2007, 4:51am; Reply: 6
Quoted from New_Hampshire_Girl
Wow!  I can't say I've heard of it.  Can you tell us more about it?

It's a huge thing in South East Asia. Most Buddhist restaurants make artificial meat dishes using seitan. The chefs are really clever in making everything from peking duck to suckling pig to drunken prawns...but unfortunately many dont know the ill effects of this product. The label "vegetarian" throws a security blanket over everyone.
Posted by: Lola, Thursday, January 11, 2007, 1:43am; Reply: 7
the horror!!
Posted by: Alia Vo, Thursday, January 11, 2007, 2:34am; Reply: 8
From my recollection, I believe mock duck contains whole wheat, or at least refined wheat.

If you include the list of ingredients on the mock duck food label, we will be able to assist you more accurately.

Posted by: Drea, Thursday, January 11, 2007, 2:40am; Reply: 9
To the best of my knowledge, seitan is made from wheat gluten. According to the TypeBase, it is neutral for A secretors and AB secretors, and avoid for all the rest.
Posted by: LaurieAdrienne, Friday, January 12, 2007, 8:39pm; Reply: 10
Pretty much all "fake meat" contains wheat gluten. I've only found a very few types that don't contain it. You should assume that any mock meats you eat at restaurants are made with gluten. Most can substitute tofu if you can eat soy.
Posted by: Alia Vo, Friday, January 12, 2007, 8:48pm; Reply: 11
Fake vegetarian 'meats' may also contain alot of vegetable gums and soy protein isolate.

Tofu or miso is a much 'cleaner' protein option--or even tempeh--which has a higher source of B12.

Posted by: 1475 (Guest), Saturday, January 13, 2007, 7:05pm; Reply: 12
Thanks for all the responses and sharing of info!  I guess I'll try to stay away from it then.  I was eating it a lot back in college and trying vegetarianism for the first time (and not doing a verygood job at it either!  Cheese quesadillas from taco bell were not exactly doing the body good!).

After how icky I felt, I'd rather have tofu anyway.  Thanks again!
Print page generated: Tuesday, May 22, 2018, 2:43am