Official Website Of Dr. Peter J. D'Adamo & The Blood Type Diet®
The D'Adamo Forums
The Forums, which have functioned in one way or another since 1996, have now been closed to new posting. However there is a wealth of accumulated wisdom that can be searched for and utilized, so we've archived the messages.
Join our new forum on Facebook, the Eat Right 4 Your Type Group.
I had assumed that I should avoid wheat and whatever grains that are on my avoids list. I had converted a friend over to the BTD and she interpreted wheat-free to mean gluten-free and has been gluten-free now for a few years. She buys gluten-free oats. She is not celiac.
So, is my understanding correct, or is hers correct?
"Work like you don't need the money, love like you've never been hurt, dance like no-one is watching, sing as if no one were listening, and live every day as if it were paradise!!! "
"A thankful and merry heart works like good medicine!"
Note gluten intolerant or celiac should avoid sprouted wheat as well
''Just follow the book, don't look for magic fixes to get you off the hook. Do the work.'' Dr.D.'98 DNA mt/Haplo H; Y-chrom/J2(M172);ESTJ The harder you are on yourself, the easier life will be on you!
So, what is the answer to my question? That Os are not gluten-free, but just to avoid wheat?
Yes, type O does not need to be gluten-free under the original BTD. But it depends on what your goal is. "The leading factor in weight gain ... is the gluten..." page 53. So if your goal is to lose weight, go gluten-free.
My SWAMI diet is a blend of BTD and GTD Explorer, but I'm not totally compliant. Also I try to choose foods that have a Low Glycemic index. DW and DD are A+, probably also Explorer.
SWAMI O+ Gatherer, Healing from Fibromyalgia Kyosha Nim Columnists and Bloggers
Location: New York
Gluten is found in wheat, spelt, barley, and rye, and oats are often contaminated with gluten. Gluten-free oats are free of this possible contamination from wheat.
Wheat and barley are avoids for all Os, but O secretors can have spelt, rye, and oats, and O nonnies get rye as neutral. The basic O diet does not need to be gluten free.
Gluten free oats are not a good choice for O nonnies because oats are an avoid for O nonnies. These special oats are fine for O secretors, but not necessary for most. The trace amounts of wheat found in regular oats is usually not a problem for O secretors.
Some individuals, of any blood type, can have problems with gluten. An O secretor with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity would not fare well with rye, spelt, or regular oats, but should do fine with the gluten-free oats. There are also some O secretors who are very sensitive to the trace amounts of wheat in regular oats, but do fine on spelt, rye, and gluten-free oats. But that's not common- usually, the ones who can have spelt and rye are also fine with regular oats.
Os also need to be careful of commercial gluten-free products because many of them contain avoids, such as corn or potato.
So, in a nutshell, you're right and she's wrong; the O diet does not HAVE TO be gluten-free. However, your friend may be one of those individuals who doesn't do well on gluten, even if she doesn't have full-out celiac disease. So what she's doing might be just right for HER.
Ruth, Single Mother to 22 yo O- Leah , 20 yo O- Hannah,and 15 yo B+ Jack
I have learned from Dr. D'Adamo that any 'blanket statement' about what people can and should eat is bound to be proved incorrect by someone, somewhere who will not be able to eat it. Sometimes people say, "Oh, you're a blood type B, one of the lucky ones who can eat dairy!" Well, no. I happen to be a person who does not do well on dairy at all.
Dr. D doesn't say for all type O's to avoid all gluten. On the BTD, all wheat is avoid (if I remember correctly). Some Genotype O's may need to avoid all gluten and some may not.
I would stick with Dr. D's food lists for whichever diet the person is following. And if there are specific food intolerance issues, then those foods can also be eliminated.
Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure you are. Let me not pass you by in quest of some rare and perfect tomorrow. ~Mary Jean Irion
I am a Type O Gatherer and while I don't HAVE to be gluten free, I do best if I am starch-free or as close to it as possible. The only starch that doesn't trigger me to eat more is legumes, so, when I am trying to be compliant to lose weight, I lose the starch.
Also, beware of gluten-free products...they are usually full of avoids, even on the BTD, such as potato starch, corn and gums.
When I started my genotype diet, I decided to avoid all gluten. At that point it just meant adding spelt to my avoid list. My IBS went away completely. I am not celiac. As someone said, give it a trial and you will soon know if it's what you need or not.
Yes...I know about the gluten-free commercial products, so I don't use them.
But...how do I know if I am intolerant to gluten???
Narnia, the first start, imho, would be to have your secretor test done if you have not already done so. As Ruthie pointed out in an earlier post, O secretors have a lot more grains that they can eat than O nonnies. As an O nonnie, there are not a lot of options. I get Artichoke Flour Pasta, Flaxseed Bread, Fonio, Job's tears, Larch Fiber, Malanga, Tannier, Xanthosoma, Millet, Quinoa, and Rice and Rice Bran products and Teff. I don't know what most of this stuff is or where to find it. In order to be safe, I stick with Millet and Rice breads, but the truth is I consume breads very infrequently and when I want a carb, I eat rice or quinoa. Even sprouted wheat, which Lola mentions above, is an avoid for me. I think it is safe to say that if I want to follow the diet, I am gluten free, as rice, quinoa and millet are all gluten free. I hope this helps!