Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register


Main Forum Page  ♦   Latest Posts  ♦   Member Center  ♦   Search  ♦   Archives   ♦   Help   ♦   Log In/Out   ♦   Admins
Forum Login
Login Name: Create a new account
Password:     Forgot password

BTD Forums    Diet and Nutrition    The GenoType Diet  ›  Why is ghee considered to be dairy?
Users Browsing Forum
Yahoo! Bot and 9 Guests

Why is ghee considered to be dairy?  This thread currently has 2,566 views. Print Print Thread
2 Pages 1 2 » All Recommend Thread
Mickey
Monday, December 12, 2011, 8:11pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Swamied Gatherer (50%), Rh-
Sam Dan
Posts: 1,315
Gender: Female
Location: the Bay Area, CA
I'm just wondering since the milk solids get burned off during cooking the butter, isn't it the milk solids that make butter dairy?.

I just want to get this clarified because i plan to try to go off of dairy for a couple of weeks (even compliant) and i was thinking of making ghee but don't want to take a chance if it is truly dairy.

Thanks!
Mickey


"Let food be thy medicine"

Dr. D has said many times that it's not about what you don't eat but what you do eat that makes the difference.  "Quoted by Jane"
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message
Jane
Monday, December 12, 2011, 8:16pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Kyosha Nim
Posts: 3,721
Gender: Female
Location: Metrowest Boston, MA
Age: 70
I don't know the answer to your question but if ghee is so good for us why give it up?
Jane
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 1 - 28
Spring
Monday, December 12, 2011, 8:24pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

SWAMI Explorer
Ee Dan
Posts: 3,406
Gender: Female
Location: Southeastern USA
Ghee comes from a cow so it will always be considered dairy! Butter doesn't look like butter, either, when it comes from the cow but it will always be considered dairy.


"We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid." -- Benjamin Franklin
Logged
Private Message Private message Reply: 2 - 28
Victoria
Monday, December 12, 2011, 9:45pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Swami Nomad 56%
Sun Beh Nim
Moderator
Posts: 15,425
Gender: Female
Location: Oregon
Essentially all the milk solids are clarified out and sink to the bottom.  What is left is pure butter oil.

However, no one can guarantee to you that there is not a trace of milk solid left, so it is a dairy product.  The oil comes from a dairy product, much in the way that olive oil comes from olives.  Olives may be an avoid for many people, while olive oil is beneficial.

Many people who are intolerant of dairy products are able to thrive on ghee, but it is your own body that must inform you.  It is your choice as to what your reasons are for avoiding dairy and what you want to achieve.  



Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure you are.
Let me not pass you by in quest
of some rare and perfect tomorrow.
~Mary Jean Irion
Logged
Site Site Private Message Private message Reply: 3 - 28
BTypeAUS
Monday, December 12, 2011, 10:54pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

B Type Nomad
Autumn: Harvest, success.
Posts: 478
Gender: Female
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 48
I have to try ghee, I've been reading a lot about it here...does it taste like butter when used in frying?


B+ Nomad, mum to two type O+ boys (21 and 14) and husband type O+
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 4 - 28
honeybee
Monday, December 12, 2011, 11:01pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

INTJ
Ee Dan
Posts: 1,042
Gender: Female
Location: au
Yes BTypeAUS I think you will love it. You can buy it from supermkt or make it from butter. http://www.dadamo.com/cgi-bin/Blah/Blah.pl?b-btdlf1/m-1100446907/s-0/


Great post Victoria!
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 5 - 28
O in Virginia
Tuesday, December 13, 2011, 12:58am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Swami
Kyosha Nim
Posts: 2,642
Gender: Female
Location: Virginia
Age: 56
In my swami ghee is classified under dairy.  I get very little dairy, but ghee is a superfood, along with buffalo milk, which I have not found for sale around here.  I probably use more ghee in a week than I'm supposed to, but I do very well on it, with no symptoms of dairy consumption that I get with cheese, i.e., congestion & weight gain.  So I think of it as dairy and not-dairy.  I cook eggs in it, so it's like an oil, but I will butter a rice cake with it, so it's like butter, too.

BTypeAUS, ghee does taste a like butter, but less sweet and even more buttery, but it doesn't burn as quickly, though it will burn if the heat is too high.

I loooove ghee.    It is a miracle superfood for me, and I hate to be without it.
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 6 - 28
Victoria
Tuesday, December 13, 2011, 1:22am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Swami Nomad 56%
Sun Beh Nim
Moderator
Posts: 15,425
Gender: Female
Location: Oregon
I like it way better than butter.

However .. if a person is expecting that milky, creamy flavor, they will not get that.  Ghee is much lighter, more aromatic.  I would absolutely eat it by the spoonful if I weren't concerned about my cholesterol rising.  Even so, I exceed my SWAMI recommendation a little bit.

Supposedly, ghee can raise the cholesterol but only the HDL.  This is according to Ayurveda books.



Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure you are.
Let me not pass you by in quest
of some rare and perfect tomorrow.
~Mary Jean Irion
Logged
Site Site Private Message Private message Reply: 7 - 28
BTypeAUS
Tuesday, December 13, 2011, 1:47am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

B Type Nomad
Autumn: Harvest, success.
Posts: 478
Gender: Female
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 48
Yum sounds good, I've seen it at Indian grocery stores ,,,will check it out, thanks


B+ Nomad, mum to two type O+ boys (21 and 14) and husband type O+
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 8 - 28
O in Virginia
Tuesday, December 13, 2011, 1:55am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Swami
Kyosha Nim
Posts: 2,642
Gender: Female
Location: Virginia
Age: 56
Quoted from BTypeAUS
Yum sounds good, I've seen it at Indian grocery stores ,,,will check it out, thanks


Make your own, it's easy.  
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 9 - 28
C_Sharp
Tuesday, December 13, 2011, 2:20am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Teacher Rh+ Lewis: a+b-, NN,Taster
Sa Bon Nim
Administrator
Posts: 8,523
Gender: Male
Location: Indiana
Age: 54
"Vegetarian Ghee" found in Indian grocery stores is not dairy.  Ratings for ghee in Genotype diet do not apply to "Vegetarian Ghee".  


MIfHI                            I follow a SWAMI diet.
Logged
Private Message Private message Reply: 10 - 28
Spring
Tuesday, December 13, 2011, 2:23am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

SWAMI Explorer
Ee Dan
Posts: 3,406
Gender: Female
Location: Southeastern USA
I love ghee. It is so easy to make that a child could learn how. I buy organic butter, put a stick in a small pan and have the heat not quite halfway between medium and low. It sizzles and pops for a little while after it melts and almost the instant it gets quiet, it is ready. I like mine with a little "toasted" taste so I leave it until I see a very light shade of tan in the bottom of the pan - which means leaving it a very few seconds after it stops popping. I have a VERY fine strainer that I put it through into a small jar. Let it cool and store in my cabinet. I have had some to last six months, and the taste never changes!! Never store in the fridge because you do not want moisture to form in the jar. Never use a wet utensil to dip into the jar. I used to go to the trouble of straining mine through a coffee filter, but it isn't necessary. The strainer MUST be fine, though. I have read some horror stories about bought ghee, and the prices some people have paid!


"We are all born ignorant, but one must work hard to remain stupid." -- Benjamin Franklin
Logged
Private Message Private message Reply: 11 - 28
StarPine
Tuesday, December 13, 2011, 6:28pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator
Guest User
Quoted from Victoria
Essentially all the milk solids are clarified out and sink to the bottom.  What is left is pure butter oil.

However, no one can guarantee to you that there is not a trace of milk solid left, so it is a dairy product.  The oil comes from a dairy product, much in the way that olive oil comes from olives.  Olives may be an avoid for many people, while olive oil is beneficial.

Many people who are intolerant of dairy products are able to thrive on ghee, but it is your own body that must inform you.  It is your choice as to what your reasons are for avoiding dairy and what you want to achieve.  


Well said.
Logged
E-mail E-mail Reply: 12 - 28
StarPine
Tuesday, December 13, 2011, 6:31pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator
Guest User
Quoted from Spring
I love ghee.


Argh I wish I could agree. I tried it and cannot stand the taste or smell of ghee. And of course it's a superfood for me.
However, I do take butter oil caps. That I can tolerate
Logged
E-mail E-mail Reply: 13 - 28
ruthiegirl
Tuesday, December 13, 2011, 6:50pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

SWAMI O+ Gatherer, Healing from Fibromyalgia
Kyosha Nim
Columnists and Bloggers
Posts: 12,378
Gender: Female
Location: New York
Age: 42
I think ghee is considered dairy because it's a good source of butyric acid, which is also found in cheese, milk, and other dairy products. If the only dairy you consume is ghee, you're still getting all the "good stuff" from milk that Dr D thinks we all need. You're "following SWAMI 100%" if you use ghee for all your dairy portions and eat no cheeses, milk, yogurt, or kefir.

There shouldn't be any dairy protiens or carbs in properly made ghee. Ghee is generally safe for "dairy free diets" if your concern is lactose intolerance or a reaction to milk protiens (such as congestion or emotional reactions.)

However, if you have an actual dairy allergy, the kind where you need to carry an epi-pen, ghee might not be a good idea. Even a trace of a trace of dairy protein could be fatal for some of these folks.


Ruth, Single Mother to 19yo   O- Leah , 18yo O- Hannah, and  13yo B+ Jack


Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 14 - 28
chrissyA
Tuesday, December 13, 2011, 6:51pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

GT3 Teacher 49%, super-taster,
Autumn: Harvest, success.
Posts: 477
Gender: Female
Location: Southern Cal
Age: 51
Quoted from C_sharp
"Vegetarian Ghee" found in Indian grocery stores is not dairy

Ghee is acceptable to vegetarians. Vegetarians will eat dairy, vegans will not. Did you mean vegan?  


SWAMI
“Let thy food be thy medicine and thy medicine be thy food.” --Hippocrates (460-377 B.C.)
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 15 - 28
Goldie
Tuesday, December 13, 2011, 6:53pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

All Gatherer -70 Scorp/Sag on BTD/GENO 17 year
Sam Dan
Posts: 5,928
Gender: Female
Location: East Coast
Why go off something that is good for you?



Being here is invaluable, but not enough. We need ALL the Doctors. I needed them for a very small cancer spot-I could never feel!!! Please do your mammograms! Doing so saved me from cancer later on. I am grateful! Thanks for learning from my experience! I was lucky! I wish the same for YOU!
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 16 - 28
TJ
Tuesday, December 13, 2011, 11:28pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

54% Nomad
Kyosha Nim
Posts: 3,486
Gender: Male
Location: Midvale, UT, USA
Age: 39
Pretty much any food/drink that comes out of a teet is dairy, right?
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 17 - 28
C_Sharp
Wednesday, December 14, 2011, 1:08am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Teacher Rh+ Lewis: a+b-, NN,Taster
Sa Bon Nim
Administrator
Posts: 8,523
Gender: Male
Location: Indiana
Age: 54
Quoted from chrissyA

Ghee is acceptable to vegetarians. Vegetarians will eat dairy, vegans will not. Did you mean vegan?  


While Vegetarian Ghee would be suitable for vegans, I have never seen an Indian Grocery store sell a product with a label for "Vegan Ghee", but I see the term the terms "Vegetarian Ghee" and/or "vegetable ghee" nearly every time I go to an Indian Grocery.  The Indian terms for this type of ghee are vanaspati ghee or dalda ghee.

Whether a product is labeled "Vegetarian Ghee" or "Vegetable Ghee", it is what Americans call margarine. It is made form a variety of vegetable oils and often the oils are at least partially hydrogenated (to make it solid).


Sometimes Indian restaurants will use the term "vegan ghee" sometimes this is margarine and sometimes the restaurant uses dairy ghee.


MIfHI                            I follow a SWAMI diet.
Logged
Private Message Private message Reply: 18 - 28
chrissyA
Wednesday, December 14, 2011, 1:51am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

GT3 Teacher 49%, super-taster,
Autumn: Harvest, success.
Posts: 477
Gender: Female
Location: Southern Cal
Age: 51
So...  vegetarian/vegetable ghee would not be dairy, but ghee made from animal milk (butter) would not be vegan. I didn't know there were so many kinds of ghee, I thought it was a dairy product.  


SWAMI
“Let thy food be thy medicine and thy medicine be thy food.” --Hippocrates (460-377 B.C.)
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 19 - 28
Victoria
Wednesday, December 14, 2011, 3:21am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Swami Nomad 56%
Sun Beh Nim
Moderator
Posts: 15,425
Gender: Female
Location: Oregon
But margarine is not going to give you the health benefits of true ghee, made from milk.



Normal day, let me be aware of the treasure you are.
Let me not pass you by in quest
of some rare and perfect tomorrow.
~Mary Jean Irion
Logged
Site Site Private Message Private message Reply: 20 - 28
zenphoenix
Wednesday, December 14, 2011, 5:26am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

54% Explorer-LDN-HSP-INFJ-SuperTaster
Autumn: Harvest, success.
Posts: 182
Gender: Female
Location: Montana
Age: 44
Quoted from Spring
The strainer MUST be fine, though.


i agree it's very easy to make.

if you don;t have a really fine strainer, use the finest one you can find and then line it with a few layers natural cheese cloth (soak with water first).

I also use the decanting method, where i pour off the good stuff through the strainer until i get to the solids / mixed with liquids. I pour that off through the strainer into a different container.

my hunny is allergic to casein and whey (quite strongly in fact - hives and boils) and he can use ghee without any problems.


"Our lives are frittered away by detail. Simplify, simplify." ~Henry David Theroux
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 21 - 28
Mickey
Friday, December 16, 2011, 4:21pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Swamied Gatherer (50%), Rh-
Sam Dan
Posts: 1,315
Gender: Female
Location: the Bay Area, CA
Quoted Text
Why go off something that is good for you?

Good point Jane & Goldie!

I've decided that i'll just concentrate on going off of the avoid dairy like half-n-half for now.  


"Let food be thy medicine"

Dr. D has said many times that it's not about what you don't eat but what you do eat that makes the difference.  "Quoted by Jane"
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 22 - 28
yvonneb
Sunday, January 8, 2012, 8:35pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

I am hunting...
Autumn: Harvest, success.
Posts: 343
Gender: Female
Location: Ireland
Quoted from 14922


Argh I wish I could agree. I tried it and cannot stand the taste or smell of ghee. And of course it's a superfood for me.
However, I do take butter oil caps. That I can tolerate


There's ghee and there's clarified butter. On a previous thread somewhere we explored the health benefits of both and both contain the all important butyric acid.

But- they taste different!
Both times the butter is melted and simmered, but ghee is cooked much longer and gets a more caramely taste, clarified butter is barely simmered and tastes much more like the original butter.
The texture will be different, but it's lovely over steamed veg and for frying eggs in.

So, will you give it another go?  
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 23 - 28
deblynn3
Sunday, January 8, 2012, 9:46pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

GT2 Gatherer rh+;Prop-Taster
Ee Dan
Posts: 2,625
Gender: Female
Location: Arkansas
Age: 57
On the comment of Indian ghee, that was the first kind I got and I wasn't impressed. What I got was hard, even when not in the refrigerator, flavorless and milky in color. Make you own, it is easy, it will last several weeks well to be truthful several months. ( I do all four sticks, and divide into 4 small glass bowls with plastic lids, I put three in the refrigerator but not sure you really have to do that.) It has a nutty flavor.


Swami, 100% me..
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 24 - 28
2 Pages 1 2 » All Recommend Thread
Print Print Thread

BTD Forums    Diet and Nutrition    The GenoType Diet  ›  Why is ghee considered to be dairy?

Thread Rating
There is currently no rating for this thread