Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register


Main Forum Page  ♦   Latest Posts  ♦   Member Center  ♦   Search  ♦   Archives   ♦   Help   ♦   Log In/Out   ♦   Admins
Forum Login
Login Name: Create a new account
Password:     Forgot password

BTD Forums    Diet and Nutrition    Eat Right 4 Your Type  ›  Is this true? Spelt has gluten?
Users Browsing Forum
jeanb, MSN Bot and 12 Guests

Is this true? Spelt has gluten?  This thread currently has 1,038 views. Print Print Thread
1 Pages 1 Recommend Thread
Esther
Thursday, September 12, 2013, 2:21pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator
Guest User
I joined this site, because I wanted to find recipes for gluten free bread; however one person posted that spelt has grains it. I have been informed otherwise

Revision History (1 edits)
Drea  -  Friday, September 13, 2013, 12:21pm
Added to title for clarity
Logged
E-mail E-mail
shoulderblade
Thursday, September 12, 2013, 2:41pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Rh -
Kyosha Nim
Posts: 1,089
Gender: Male
Location: Kitchener, ON.
Age: 65
As farv as i know Spelt, Barley, Oats, Rye and Kamut all contain gluten. Rice is gluten-free and may be a beneficial depending on which system you are using.

Just for fun there are different forms of gluten as well.






Revision History (1 edits)
shoulderblade  -  Thursday, September 12, 2013, 4:20pm
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 1 - 9
Amazone I.
Thursday, September 12, 2013, 2:46pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Rh+ GT 4...E/..INTJ ....prop.=non-taster..
Kyosha Nim
Columnists and Bloggers
Posts: 16,236
Gender: Female
Location: CH-Benglen Kanton Z�rich
Age: 56
rice is a seed and not a grain ... then add some quinoa or amaranth......


MIfHI K-174
Logged
Private Message Private message Reply: 2 - 9
Chloe
Thursday, September 12, 2013, 3:19pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

42% Teacher Rh+ N1, N1b
Kyosha Nim
Posts: 8,981
Gender: Female
Location: Northeast USA
Age: 71
Quoted from 49410
I joined this site, because I wanted to find recipes for gluten free bread; however one person posted that spelt has grains it. I have been informed otherwise


Spelt is a grain that contains gluten. My husband who is supposed to be wheat free does fine on spelt.  If you're totally gluten intolerant, have celiac, then you wouldn't want to eat spelt.  If spelt is listed on your diet as a beneficial, you might find that you tolerate it.  Or you might tolerate
sprouted spelt.

This is not a website particularly focused on eating gluten free grains. Some of us avoid gluten, many people eat gluten.  I'd suggest if you're looking for gluten free recipes, do a google search.

Or go to yummly.com and type in any food you're looking for and you will find every recipe
with those ingredients that could be found on the web.

Here's one site with good GF bread baking suggestions
http://glutenfreecooking.about.com/od/glutenfreebreads/tp/3goodglutenfreebreadrecipes.htm

As for following the BTD or the GTD, you're in the right place~  


"The happiest people don't have the best of everything.....they know how to make the best of everything!"

Revision History (1 edits)
Chloe  -  Thursday, September 12, 2013, 3:54pm
Logged
Private Message Private message Reply: 3 - 9
ruthiegirl
Thursday, September 12, 2013, 3:22pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

SWAMI O+ Gatherer, Healing from Fibromyalgia
Kyosha Nim
Columnists and Bloggers
Posts: 12,075
Gender: Female
Location: New York
Age: 41
Yes, spelt has gluten in it. If you need to be gluten-free, then you cannot eat spelt.

However, spelt is appropriate for Bs who are following the Blood Type Diet, provided those individuals don't have a specific problem with gluten. Many people confuse wheat-free with gluten free, or think they have to cut out all gluten to follow BTD.

Wheat, spelt, barley, and rye all have gluten in them. Oats do not have gluten, but they are often cross-contaminated with gluten from growing or processing. Gluten-free oats are carefully prepared to avoid this contamination. However, many people who do not tolerate gluten also have a problem with the oat proteins themselves, which are similar to gluten.

Since oats are good for Bs in general, it's likely (though not guaranteed) that a B with a gluten problem will do fine on gluten free oats. Rice and quinoa are fine for Bs and are gluten free. Watch out for corn starch or other corn-based additives or ingredients in gluten free breads, as corn is toxic for Bs. You do not need to worry about potato flour or potato starch, though, as potato is OK for Bs even though it's not OK for Os (I've seen many GF baked goods with potato flour in them; I can't eat them but a GF B would be fine with those.)

I've done well making rice flour muffins, pizza crusts, bread sticks (with pizza dough) and small rolls. I have never had success with a slice-able sandwich bread. I once even made a large loaf with some of the same dough as the small rolls- the rolls were fine, but the bread fell apart into crumbs when I tried to slice it. I think I made stuffing out of those bread crumbs.  If I want a sandwich, my best bet is to make two very flat rolls and use each one as a "slice" of bread.

I've seen rice flour tortillas in stores, but I've never  tried making those myself. I think those would work well for a "sandwich wrap". There are also plenty of bread-free menu ideas: wrap "sandwich fixings" in a lettuce or cabbage leaf, pack a thermos full of soup or stew, or a cold salad in a resealable container, rather than a sandwich for lunch. You can add all kinds of raw or cooked veggies, beans, meats, and/or grains to the salad.


Ruth, Single Mother to 19yo   O- Leah , 18yo O- Hannah, and  12yo B+ Jack


Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 4 - 9
shoulderblade
Thursday, September 12, 2013, 4:26pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Rh -
Kyosha Nim
Posts: 1,089
Gender: Male
Location: Kitchener, ON.
Age: 65
Quoted from ruthiegirl

Wheat, spelt, barley, and rye all have gluten in them. Oats do not have gluten, but they are often cross-contaminated with gluten from growing or processing. Gluten-free oats are carefully prepared to avoid this contamination. However, many people who do not tolerate gluten also have a problem with the oat proteins themselves, which are similar to gluten.


I think that the rule of thumb here is that any commercial Oat product can be assumed to have been cross pollinated to some extent and thus can be assumed to contain some gluten. If the Oats were organic or analysed to be gluten free you would be in the clear on it.

The food processing system more or less leaves it up to you to watch out on this point.






Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 5 - 9
aussielady582
Friday, September 13, 2013, 4:07am Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Be kind to everyone; be persistent with health!
Autumn: Harvest, success.
Posts: 399
Gender: Female
Location: Sydney, N.S.W., Australia
Age: 52
I recently made some easy rice flat breads, using white rice flour, a little olive oil, good quality salt, finely chopped fresh rosemary mixed witt water.  ladle mix onto heated flat pan with a little ghee, about 3 mins each side.  nice and crunchy on outside. I enjoyed it with stir-fried vegetables at lunch time recently.
I also made some nice pumpernickel bread from Sandra's book, http://www.ccccibs.com - using almond meal, walnuts, eggs, etc    tasty and moist, gluten-free.  nice to make just occassionally and share it with others.  I'm not sure about heating/baking almonds due to the good fats being changed by cooking, and also heating honey, but one could experiment and improvise is they wish.  Also, for people with inflammatory disorders, almonds as most nuts are high in omega 6 fats, and can imbalance one's  3-6-9 profile, making one feel not so great!
Good to just eat different grains as part of your balanced meals, for me it is quinoa, amaranth, millet, rice, buckwheat, oats sometimes, kamut cous cous less often.  Vegetables are top priority for me, for minerals, balancing on all levels, and alkalising effects.
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 6 - 9
Xuxuzinha
Friday, September 13, 2013, 3:48pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Explorer
Autumn: Harvest, success.
Posts: 159
Gender: Female
Location: London, UK
@Jaz: Wheat is the grain which contains the most gluten, where other grains as spelt contain some gluten, but much less, and are therefore easier to digest.

So if you are to avoid wheat but can have other grains, then you don't need to go totally glutenfree.
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 7 - 9
RedLilac
Saturday, September 14, 2013, 1:20pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

SWAMI tweaked Explorer Super Taster from Illinois
Kyosha Nim
Posts: 3,036
Gender: Female
Location: Lombard, Illinois (Chicago suburb)
Age: 63
Be leery of commercial gluten free products because many of them contain corn which is much worse for us B’s.


I am B- NON-Sec Explorer; my son is B+ SEC Nomad; my Mother was O+; and my Father was AB-
SWAMI Thanksgiving present 2008
Revised from Arlene B- NonSec to RedLilac on 3/31/06
Logged Offline
Private Message Private message Reply: 8 - 9
Amazone I.
Saturday, September 14, 2013, 6:46pm Report to Moderator Report to Moderator

Rh+ GT 4...E/..INTJ ....prop.=non-taster..
Kyosha Nim
Columnists and Bloggers
Posts: 16,236
Gender: Female
Location: CH-Benglen Kanton Z�rich
Age: 56
rrrrrrremember the very questionable situation  about the marriage of the gluten-gliadin - issue ......and that B's are justamente very susceptible to food intolerances...(of a certain groupe...)


MIfHI K-174
Logged
Private Message Private message Reply: 9 - 9
1 Pages 1 Recommend Thread
Print Print Thread

BTD Forums    Diet and Nutrition    Eat Right 4 Your Type  ›  Is this true? Spelt has gluten?

Thread Rating
There is currently no rating for this thread