Archives for: August 2001, 07
Hi Heidi, Welcome back! Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving.
Wanted to let Sarah in PA know about some interesting stuff our nonnie group has discovered. I know she is looking for gluten free Type A friendly stuff. Lentil flour is always an option but our group has discovered making their own sweet potato flour. They dice up sweet potatoes into slivers and dehydrate in dehydrator for about 8 hours (through the night). When completely dried, the 'taters are ground up in a grain mill. We have had a several people make brownies that were given rave reviews. Kind of mind blowing to think of brownies as being a vegetable and beneficial for some!
And for Genevieve, I highly recommend taking the spit test to find out if you are a nonsecretor. Life changing for me and has really made all the difference. And what the nonnies on our list have relayed is that once they really get going with the nonnie diet, they can add back foods that gave them trouble before like nuts.
And I also got a serotyping panel done with Southwest College of Naturopathic Medicine. Knowing I was an A2 added a greater dimension of understanding to the diet and was a great help to me. And of course having Heidi as a resource too is a godsend. Happy Holidays to all! And a big hug to you Heidi! Nina (A2 nonnie) in PA too :-)
Hi Heidi, I wanted to make a comment about something Sandra mentioned on Dec. 3rd. She said that B's do fine with milk. It is beneficial for B's and I'm sure some do fine with it, but I am a type B and just found out this past year that I have celiac disease. My holistic doctor immeditely took me off gluten products and dairy products.
After a year of following the blood type diet as she wanted me to do, I was a bit confused about some of the foods that were neutral or beneficial for me were ones that she took me off of. I asked her to explain it to me when I went for a checkup a few weeks ago. She told me that even though she wants me to follow the blood type diet, my diet has to be altered even further because I have another medical condition which is celiac disease. In fact, instead of drinking dairy I have to drink rice milk. I also am able to have nonfat yogurt and certain cheeses - usually goat milk cheese. So, yes, I'm sure some B's can have dairy products, but there are some of us who can't. Susan
Heidi, In this column http://www.dadamo.com/columns/begin/ask2.pl?20021217.txt you posted the link to http://journeytoforever.org/biodiesel_glycerin.html which can explain why some vegetable glycerine sources taste "metallic" or have a strong aftertaste. Vegetable glycerine is only as pure as they make it and will definitely contain some contaminants. From the biodiesel website, check the first paragraph under "separating the glycerine" (I've pasted below).
Anyhow, that's why I recommend only using "food grade" vegetable glycerine.
Separating the glycerine
What sinks to the bottom of the biodiesel processor during the settling stage is a mixture of glycerine, methanol, soaps and the lye catalyst. Most of the excess methanol and most of the catalyst remains in this layer. Once separated from the biodiesel, adding phosphoric acid to the glycerine layer precipitates the catalyst out and also converts the soaps back to free fatty acids (FFAs), which float on top. You're left with a light-colored precipitate on the bottom, glycerine/methanol/water in the middle, and FFA on top. The glycerine will be approx. 95% pure, a much more attractive product to sell to refiners.
Great points and useful tips, ladies ~~ thank you kindly!! :-D